Moving: It’s An Adventure. An Overwhelming, Stressful Adventure. [Part 1]

I am in the process of moving about 3,000 miles away — to Washington state to live with my partner of 3+ years.

I am excited & happy about this, except that I am also fucking scared, sad, and overwhelmed.

IMAG0232

So, I figure that documenting it will be a way to help me cope.  Or, at least a way to help me procrastinate while I should be packing.

The thing that sucks is, I basically have to do most of this alone; my partner can’t be here to help me with any of it until he flies out to help me load up whatever moving vehicle I end up renting.  Then we’ll spend a week driving across the country.

I am easily overwhelmed by major life changes.  I mean, I know it’s stressful for everyone to go through stuff like this, but my emotional & mental constitution is much more vulnerable than the average person’s.  I’ve been having anxiety attacks and crying/grief spells literally every day since I got back from WA.

I have about two months left to get everything ready for the move.  The window of opportunity for my partner to fly here and help me is pretty small — he’s only got about 11 days in between school semesters.  If we don’t move in mid-June, I’d have to wait until late August, and I don’t want to do that; I just want all of this stress to be done & over with.

Phase One for me has been to just pack.  Which involves also going through the past 10+ years of memories here, and to decide what stuff is coming with me.  I am going to have to downsize considerably, which is both good and bad.  I’d love a fresh start living in a new place where I’m not burdened by too much STUFF.  Yet, I am a very sentimental person, and I cling a lot to memories of the past, even if the past was full of bad memories, too.

Part of Phase One is also trying to get quotes, etc. from moving companies.  There are a zillion options for getting my stuff there, and all are way more than I can afford.  So, I’m also dealing with the reality that I will have to get rid of far more things than I wanted to.  Including the bookcase that my late grandfather built me.  So it goes.

Another part of Phase One is finding a way to get rid of the stuff I don’t want or can’t take with me.  This involves listing some things on Ebay, and planning tag sales to try and sell the rest of it.  I’m probably going to end up giving a lot of things away, too.

I hope to be all sorted and packed by the end of April, which will be tough because I’ve got less than three weeks left to do that.

Anyway, that’s basically what’s going on right now.  Updates to follow.

Leave a Reply

